Confusing function node problem

Hi,

I have a function node with some if statements to handle some conditional re-mapping of items.

This foreach loop was working without my if portion, but now I’m getting an error “newitem is not defined”, without saying which line the problem is.

I’m still learning javascript, so I’ve reached the end of what I can think of on this:

Node Code:

const newItems = [];
let newItem = [];

let mapping = $item(0).$node["Settings"].json["query"]["mapping"];
let item;

if (mapping = "test") 
  {

items.forEach(item => {
      item = item.json;

//newItem = {};

newItem['ENTTLA2'] = item['ENTTLA'];
      newitem['CableDescription1'] = item['CableDescription1'];
      newitem['CableDescription2'] = item['CableDescription2'];
      newitem['CableDescription3'] = item['CableDescription3'];
      newitem['EndEquipment'] = item['EndEquipment'];
      newitem['EndEquipmentPosition'] = item['EndEquipmentPosition'];
      newitem['EndRoom'] = item['EndRoom'];
      newitem['KTR'] = item['KTR'];
      newitem['Kabelnummer'] = item['Kabelnummer'];
      newitem['Description'] = item['Description'];
      newitem['SRTP'] = item['SRTP'];
      newitem['StartEquipment'] = item['StartEquipment'];
      newitem['StartEquipmentPosition'] = item['StartEquipmentPosition'];
      newitem['StartRoom'] = item['StartRoom'];
      newitem['Status'] = item['Status'];
      newitem['CableType'] = item['CableType'];
      newitem['BGR'] = item['BGR'];
      //newItem['canonical-vid'] = item['canonical-vid'];

// TODO: Keep on going from here by adding everything as you want it

newItems.push({ json: newItem });
      });
  };

if (mapping = "none") 
  {

items.forEach(item => {
      item = item.json;

newItem = {};
      newItem['ENTTLA3'] = item['ENTTLA'];

newItems.push({ json: newItem });
      });
  };

return newItems;

Error Message:

ERROR: newitem is not defined

Details

Stack

ReferenceError: newitem is not defined