Docker Container Crashes and quite

I’m VERY new to Docker and i’m trying to start using postgreSQL instead of sql lite. I’m fine with defaults and everything works great.

When I try running with postgress db. The container shows up for a few seconds the drops and I get
last session crashed.

If I could even get pointed to step by steps others have used for beginners that would be great. I’ve been using the n8n docs, but apparently missing something.

docker run -it --rm \
 --name n8n \
 -p 5678:5678 \
 -e N8N_BASIC_AUTH_ACTIVE="true" \
 -e N8N_BASIC_AUTH_USER="philipwiggins" \
 -e N8N_BASIC_AUTH_PASSWORD="myothersecretpassword" \
 -e N8N_HOST="wigginshome.hopto.org" \
 -e VUE_APP_URL_BASE_API="wigginshome.hopto.org" \
 -e DB_TYPE="postgresdb" \
 -e DB_POSTGRESDB_DATABASE="n8n" \
 -e DB_POSTGRESDB_HOST="localhost" \
 -e DB_POSTGRESDB_PORT="5432" \
 -e DB_POSTGRESDB_USER="n8nAdmin" \
 -e DB_POSTGRESDB_SCHEMA="public" \
 -e DB_POSTGRESDB_PASSWORD="mysecretpassword" \
 -v ~/.n8n:/home/node/.n8n n8nio/n8n:latest n8n start --tunnel

Information on your n8n setup

• **n8n version:277.1
  • Database (postgres):
  • Running n8n via (Docker):
  • **Operating system:mac

What n8n version do you use? The one you mentioned does not exist.

Can you please post the output of the n8n container. That will potentially help to debug that problem.

I would also remove the tunnel option, I suspect the issue will be with the database connection. If you remove the Postgres settings and start the container if it says up we know that is where the issue is.

Sorry its 227.1. I will try to get the container output this week when I get a chance to look into again. Are there any good step by step on the postgres sql to get the fields required to connect n8n to it? I’m guess my biggest question is to ensure that i’ve structured the parameters correctly on the docker start.