Frustrations and Future

I think n8n is a great project. It’s been already a while since I started playing with it for the first time - unfortunately I still find it quite frustrating. I never feel productive using it.

Now I hope I can give this post a positive spin and it does not come across as bitching.

It’s great that the number of nodes/integrations is increasing at such pace :tada:, but IMO some of the older nodes also need some love.

1. Google Sheets

Appending works fine. Updating works fine - if a key exists. But do I really need to try and model an upsert manually as workflow? IMO it would be great if this could be handled by the node automatically when a certain option/mode is set. Search for the key, update if it exists, otherwise append.

1. Speadsheet File

Trying the same with a local spreadsheet file I read the docs on the Binary Property and…

Binary Property field: Name of the binary property in which to save the binary data of the spreadsheet file.

…if this was a movie you now would hear crickets :wink:
Binary data of a spreadsheet file? What? Why? How?

This note in the docs clears things up:

You will need to use an additional node such as the Read Binary File node […] to pass the image file as a data property to the Spreadsheet File node.

But that makes the name of the node very awkward.
Why not name it as some kind of conversion node it really is?

And wouldn’t it be nice to have a more similar interface to the e.g. Google Sheets?

1. SQL

No support for sqlite? Bummer. Because of the native part?
Searching the nodes for “sql” does not return “Postgres”.
(Similar thing with Email and Amazon SES)
Maybe also index descriptions or tags?

1. MongoDB

MongoDB also natively supports upsert - but the node does not expose that feature. I guess it would also be nice to also allow freeform queries for Insert and Update.

1. Node State