JSON manipulation for Mailchimp Groups

Hello everyone, this is my first post here and also I am very new to the use of n8n and really love it!

Currently I’m trying to push a contact from one mailchimp audience (Audience A) into another mailchimp audience (Audience B). This works quite well so far.

But my challenge is that if a contact registers for a specific group (group AA) then he should also be automatically registered in the audience B in a specific group (group BA). As far as I can see, this can’t be done via the mailchimp node fields, because the group membership is not displayed / customizable.

My other consideration was to customize the “Interest” section in JSON and add the value I want to have added to subscribe to the mailchimp group (BA). Is it somehow possible to rewrite the following lines of a JSON using n8n

},
"interests": {
    "eae4bf1d1e": true,
    "bae6b78eac": false,
    "fd67ae933a": false
 },

to →

},
"interests": {
        "8b51df2dfb": true
 },

I am currently trying it over an IF and a SET.
If interest " eae4bf1d1e" = true then define interest “8b51df2dfb” = true

Can you help me with this problem? The best way would be to define the groups (interests) in the mailchimp node for sure.

Thanks for your help.

Hey, @Hueseyin welcome to the community. Yes, this is sadly not possible for the UI and just checked the Mailchimp API and they make it everything but easy to add. Either way, there must be a walkaround.

Question for you, where is the interest object coming from? is that coming from a trigger?

1 Like

Many thanks for the quick response. Yes, unfortunately I did not find anything in the mailchimp integration…

The interest object comes from a get all query. (the Mailchimp Trigger didn’t worked somehow)