'Nix AT command

Just like crontab being able to perform a task in the future, at set times and dates on a regular basis, at allows a command to be performed… but instead of a regular basis, as a one off.

Could the cron node be adapted to create an at node?

Jason

Welcome to the community @JasonDD!

That should not be to complicated and can see how that can be helpful for many use cases.

1 Like

Thank you Jan, for both a ridiculously speedy response and of course… n8n :smiley:

1 Like

@JasonDD I know that it is possible for configure CRON to perform a one off task like AT. Could the CRON node be configured to provide the same functionality without having to write a new node?

1 Like

Hi Tephlon.

I actually tried it, and had bookmarked this page on SO where I learned a touch more… I won’t profess to be knowledgeable in the area (at least compared to the wider Stack Overflow community) but although possible, it doesn’t seem to be advised to go that way.

However, I am no expert in this.

What I do know is the at command delivers such huge flexibility and simplicity

EG:
run this task 2 hours from now

at now + 2 hours n8n execute --file <WORKFLOW_FILE>

or run this task on a specific time on a specific day of a specific month of a specific year etc.

March 4th at 13:09 next year

at -f “n8n execute --file <WORKFLOW_FILE>” -t 202103041309

That I think the power is immense.

At the simplest level, an automated email system has been set up with scheduled emails and at the most robust… I am sure there is much more.

Ultimately if cron can do it, that’s great… but it may (and again I am no expert) will probably stick to the exec command instead to retain the functionality and flexibility of “at”

Hey @JasonDD!