Seting up a local builld / dev environment

reading this help forum I found others talking about the build environment but so far cannot find a solution to my particular problem. My apologies if this is a repeat.

I am new to n8n so wanted to run up an environment locally for myself which I am able to in non-dev mode with npm install n8n and will go on to run a docker containder so that is all good. However I would love to be able to extend n8n for anything I find usefull and ideally be able to give this back. I’m ok with Javascript but new to Typescript so please forgive my ignorance in this regard.

My problem is so far getting an npm build to run witout error. I think I’ve resolved dependency issues in my environment but am getting what I believe to be a typescript error.

So starting with a clean fork / clone locally of the current main branch as of the time of this posting I found that in order to get npm install && npm build to work thus far I needed to install a bunch of pre-requisites that I believe are for the most part typescript related ( please forgive my ignorance of typescript as I am pretty new to it being a longer term user of plain javascript ) - but I think I’ve got all of the deps installed :

@oclif/command react-scripts bootstrap @types/luxon @types/xml2js && npm @types/lodash @types/lodash.merge @types/lodash.get @types/lodash.set @types/jest @types/jmespath @types/uuid

so I think I’ve got the needed environment however I still get the following build error:

n8n-workflow:build: > [email protected] build /home/user/projects/n8n/packages/workflow
n8n-workflow:build: > tsc
n8n-workflow:build: 
n8n-workflow:build: src/RoutingNode.ts(244,6): error TS2769: No overload matches this call.
n8n-workflow:build:   Overload 1 of 4, '(target: {}, source: IN8nRequestOperations): IN8nRequestOperations', gave the following error.
n8n-workflow:build:     Argument of type 'IN8nRequestOperations | undefined' is not assignable to parameter of type '{}'.