Updating a contact deletes every other field

image

I had a bright idea that I would create a contact with the main information in One Node, and then later in the workflow I would update some other fields in this case the notes field.

It appears that when I update a contact it deletes all the information that I’m not setting in the update?

In this case I have a first and last name, email and phone number in the create contacts
when I update the first and last name gets cleared.

Surely you don’t want to explicitly repeat every single field in an update?

It looks like your topic is missing some important information. Could you provide the following if applicable.

  • n8n version:
  • Database (default: SQLite):
  • n8n EXECUTIONS_PROCESS setting (default: own, main):
  • Running n8n via (Docker, npm, n8n cloud, desktop app):
  • Operating system:

Hey @bally,

Looks like you may have found a bug there, I have created NODE-1166 as our internal dev ticket to get this fixed for a future release.

For now you would need to specify all the fields or use the HTTP Request node and follow the API docs to update the one field.

Could you confirm if it is only the 1st and last name that get wiped or if anything else gets wiped?

From what I remember it was everything for that contact.

I thought that too but now it seems the email and phone number has stayed intact as has this custom field