Why doesn't the editor work when I get out of the terminal

I’m sorry about that question of a total noob.

I’ve been developing n8n with a docker.

Now i log on to a remote server at http:://myiP:5678

But it only works if i run a command in the terminal

docker run -it --rm --name n8n -p 5678:5678 -v ~/.n8n:/root/.n8n n8nio/n8n

when I leave the terminal, the site no longer works. Is this how it’s supposed to work or do I do something wrong?

Welcome to the community @etato!

That probably depends what you mean with “leave the terminal”. If you mean “closing it” then yes. That is expected. Because with the terminal also all its processes get closed and so also n8n. If you mean “leave it open and simply do something else” then “no”, n8n should then keep on running.

If you want to “detach” n8n from the terminal you can add the option -d and remove the interactive flags. n8n will then keep on running even if you close the terminal. So something like this:

docker run --rm -d  --name n8n -p 5678:5678 -v ~/.n8n:/root/.n8n n8nio/n8n

If you then want to stop n8n at a later point you can do:

docker stop n8n
2 Likes

Really thanks for fast answer

I don’t know if I understand correctly. If n8n finishes the editor, will the workflows I create still work ?

Not sure what you mean with “n8n finishes the editor”. If you close only the editor in the web-browser then everything will still work fine. If you however close n8n itself (like what you did with closing the terminal) then nothing will work anymore.

1 Like

Thanks for the answer. It really helps.

Is there any additional documentation/tutorial because the website is realtively poor?

So, maybe a little context around how executables run under Linux would help make this clearer because process execution can be very confusing.