Workflow gives null in real run but works fine in test run

I’m using n8n self hosted on docker and a Gmail trigger

I’m transforming the date like this

{{ DateTime.fromFormat( $json.date, "yyyy-MM-dd'T'HH:mm:ss.SSS'Z'").toFormat("yyyyMMdd") }}

and inserting it into a contacts notes field

it works completely fine during testing and then I put it live and an email came through. The resulting contacts had “null” instead of the date “20240229”

so I went back into the workflow and ran the same node in test mode picking up the same email and it created the contact with the correct notes field as expected 20240229

I’m pretty new to this so I haven’t put in error handling or anything like that but what can I look at to see why this has happened

It looks like your topic is missing some important information. Could you provide the following if applicable.

• n8n version:
  • Database (default: SQLite):
  • n8n EXECUTIONS_PROCESS setting (default: own, main):
  • Running n8n via (Docker, npm, n8n cloud, desktop app):
  • Operating system:

Can you share the output data on the test run as well as in the error execution run?

As shown:

Make sure you’re getting it from the failed execution as well. Go into the executions tab and go into the node to see the data it had.

Also, copy and paste your workflow into your reply. Just highlight everything and paste it in after pressing the </> button in the toolbar

Thanks, I didn’t know you could look into it like this. Here’s the real run.

I got the Gmail Trigger - I’ll try to strip the sensitive details except for the lines that include a date

{
"headers": 
{

"arc-message-signature": 
"ARC-Message-Signature: i=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=arc-20160816; h=content-transfer-encoding:mime-version:from-phone:last-name :first-name:email:message-id:reply-to:from:date:subject:to :dkim-signature; =; b= F4/g==; dara=google.com",

"dkim-signature":