Attaching Google Drive files to Gmail draft

I’m new to n8n and struggling with my first workflow. I’m trying to grab some files from Google Drive and add them as attachments to a gmail draft.

I’ve got the files files downloaed, and they show correctly in the binary tab of the Google Drive node. The problem comes with attaching them.

Firstly, the workflow makes a separate email for each file, I assume because it’s looping through each of the binary objects. How do I attach multiple files to a single email? I’d like to add an attachment from another source, too.

Secondly, the attachments are showing up without any name or mime type, just as binary blobs. How can I preserve their file types and names from Google Drive?

Welcome to the community @matthewbellringer

Firstly, the workflow makes a separate email for each file, I assume because it’s looping through each of the binary objects. How do I attach multiple files to a single email? I’d like to add an attachment from another source, too.

Yeah, it’s looping the items. Are the numbers of files that you have to download always?

Secondly, the attachments are showing up without any name or mime type, just as binary blobs. How can I preserve their file types and names from Google Drive?

I just tested it, and yeah, it seems to be an issue. Gonna check it out.

Thanks, good to be here!

It’ll need to take a variable number of files - basically, it’s “all files in this folder”. Plus a different file generated from another node.

I’m thinking the approach is to combine them all in a single array object, and then split that object out again in the expression which lists attachments. But as I’m new to this I could be on completely the wrong track!

Super, thanks for looking into that one.

Ok, in that case, you need to use a function node to merge all the binary data into one record.

The function node should look as follow:

const results = { json: {}, binary: {} }

for (const [index, item] of items.entries()) {