AWS Docker installation

With apologies, this is profoundly naive question, but I’m new to Docker… Be gentle…!

I’m following the server-setup instructions ( Server Setup | Docs ) and have spun up ec2 instance and installed docker and compose.

I’m a bit confused by step 4… I have an A record already added in the DNS for the instance (using route53), but I’m not sure where the record mentioned here needs to be added…

I think I understand it from that point on…

Any pointers in the right direction would be really appreciated!

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hey @Iain_Simons,

Welcome to the community! Glad you are here!

We like to say that there are no stupid questions, only bad documentation! :rofl:

The DNS A record is to make your life easier so that you can find your n8n session easier. If I understand the EC2 documentation correctly and you have set up an external public IP, you will already have a DNS entry for your session so an A record may not be required as you could use the DNS name that is provided by default.

But, if you did want to use a custom URI and you have that domain pointing to the Route 53 servers, you could simply create a CNAME entry and point it at the provided public DNS name.

For example, let’s say you own the domain example.com and your name servers were pointed to Route 53. Let’s also assume that the EC2 instance you own has a DNS name of ec2-10-11-12-13.compute-1.amazonaws.com. If you wanted n8n.example.com to point to your EC2 instance, you could go into Route 53 and create a CNAME record that pointed n8n.example.com to ec2-10-11-12-13.compute-1.amazonaws.com.

See here for more information about CNAME records in Route 53.

1 Like

Hey @Tephlon, thanks for the welcome!

It’s a fine sentiment, but I’m sure I can also prove it IS possible for there to be both stupid questions AND bad documentation :slight_smile: