Can't get google sheets node to authenticate

I’m a newbie here, on a new windows install of the n8n app.
I thought I should have enough experience to figure this out but I guess not, so I give up and and I’m asking for help. :slight_smile: Thank you to anyone willing to lend their time.

I started with a “Append, Lookup, Update, and Read Data from a Google Sheets Spreadsheet” template (I haven’t really changed it at all yet, other than trying to connect my google account). I FINALLY got though the trouble of creating a google API service account and connecting it to n8n. Thanks to the last couple comments in the thread here:

I’m pretty sure the service account connected correctly, because (I think) I finally got past that error message, but I’m still getting this error when I try to execute the google sheets append node:

{

“library”: “PEM routines”,

“function”: “OPENSSL_internal”,

“reason”: “NO_START_LINE”,

“code”: “ERR_OSSL_PEM_NO_START_LINE”,

“statusCode”: “401”

}

Here’s my workflow:

Here’s the full output from that node:

Time

3/8/2022, 10:11:30 AM

HTTP Code

Cause
Data below may contain sensitive information. Proceed with caution when sharing.

{

“library”: “PEM routines”,

“function”: “OPENSSL_internal”,

“reason”: “NO_START_LINE”,

“code”: “ERR_OSSL_PEM_NO_START_LINE”,

“statusCode”: “401”

}

Stack

NodeApiError: Authorization failed - please check your credentials
    at Object.googleApiRequest (C:\Users\mj\AppData\Local\Programs\n8n\resources\app\node_modules\n8n-nodes-base\dist\nodes\Google\Sheet\GenericFunctions.js:43:15)
    at async GoogleSheet.getData (C:\Users\mj\AppData\Local\Programs\n8n\resources\app\node_modules\n8n-nodes-base\dist\nodes\Google\Sheet\GoogleSheet.js:34:26)
    at async GoogleSheet.convertStructuredDataToArray (C:\Users\mj\AppData\Local\Programs\n8n\resources\app\node_modules\n8n-nodes-base\dist\nodes\Google\Sheet\GoogleSheet.js:242:31)