Customizing and extending n8n to create inhouse version of the framework

Describe the issue/error/question

I am new to n8n and trying to see if I can use it in my org. I must say it looks impressive.

In an effort to create a simiar kind of automation framework for my employer, I was trying to see if I could use any open source framework already and I came across n8n.

The constraint with me in my organization is we need to start very simple and n8n is very comprehensive. We would have, initially, mostly one “kind” of workflow (and not just one workflow) but connecting different services/integrations/apps within my organization. The UI has to be very minimal meeting the org standards/themes. This workflow would almost always be using my custom nodes to connect to trigger and action services.

So I waned to customize majority of n8n as follows:

1. Remove most, if not all, nodes provided by n8n and provide only the new custom nodes that I create. I may inherit from nodes provided by n8n or use them internally to not expose the technical bits to end users. For e.g., I want to create a node that always connects to user selected service to do something. The service is exposed via a REST API (which is a different setup). THe users don’t know the technical API details, they just select the service. The node should then behind the scenes use http request node to do its job.
  2. Not use the default UI but customize it to hide/show panels, change styling etc
  3. Extend the canvas where nodes can be dropped to have some custom functionality

What is the error message (if any)?

Please share the workflow

(Select the nodes and use the keyboard shortcuts CMD+C/CTRL+C and CMD+V/CTRL+V to copy and paste the workflow respectively)

Share the output returned by the last node

Information on your n8n setup

• n8n version:
  • Database you’re using (default: SQLite):
  • Running n8n with the execution process [own(default), main]: