Getting Data from FileMaker Data Source

Hi there,

I’m new to n8n, so pleas forgive me if I’m asking a simple question. I’m trying to search a FileMaker database via Webhook > FileMaker > Respond to Webhook. I’m using the url search parameter to find data in my FileMaker database. Then I’m trying to return the results as Json data. Unfortunately, this does not work yet and the documentation on both the FileMaker and Respond to Webhook nodes is not very clear (to me) on this. The result I’m now getting is a blanc page.

As far as I’ve deducted by trying a few things, there are two issues:

1. using {{$node[“Webhook”].parameter[“productnaam”]}} to get the parameter from the url into the Fields value to Find Records does not seem to work. I’ve done a test with Create Record and that works fine.

2. no data gets transferred between the FileMaker and Respond to Webhook nodes

When I do a simple Webhook > FileMaker with a fixed value in the query’s field value then I get the found set in Json.

Can anyone please help me with my first steps?

Thanks in advance and best regards - Dick

Screenshot 2022-01-25 at 08.47.50

Hi @dickhoning, welcome to the community :tada:

I am sorry to hear you’re having trouble here. Could you share your workflow (just select your nodes and hit Ctrl+C, then insert the code here in the forum using the option for preformatted text:

Also, could you share an example of the data you send to n8n in your webhook? This data can of course be redacted, I’d just like to understand the structure.

https://…app.n8n.cloud/webhook-test/…?productnaam=test

Thanks in advance for trying to help me out!

Many thanks! I think I have an idea what’s happening :slight_smile:

So the expression used in the FileMaker node refers to one of its parameters, but there is no parameter named productnaam. Instead you’d want to read the value from the productnaam URL parameter arriving on your webhook, right?