How to configure the IF node when no Calendar Event is found

I am using the Google Calendar Get All Node. I am searching to see if a calendar event has been made in Google. If it was, I want to edit the details. If no event was found, I want to create a new event.

Here is how I have my Google Calender node set up. I think I have it working, at least when I try to test it, it seems like it works.

Event Found

No Event Found

Here is where I am not sure how to set up my IF node. I am hoping someone can help me with this issue. I have searched google, the community and even asked ChatGPT but so far nothing is working.

I am sure its something simple, but as I am brand new to n8n, I am still trying to learn how this setup works.

Thanks!

It looks like your topic is missing some important information. Could you provide the following if applicable.

• n8n version:
  • Database (default: SQLite):
  • n8n EXECUTIONS_PROCESS setting (default: own, main):
  • Running n8n via (Docker, npm, n8n cloud, desktop app):
  • Operating system:

So it seems like more testing, the Google Calendar node has changed. From other topics on it, there used to be fields you could insert search criteria into. Now the “query” field seems like it only searches the description field in Google Calendar. If only finds my event if I put all the stuff in there. It doesn’t actually look at the event date or event title fields.

Does anyone know if this has changed? Or how I can search these other fields to find my event.

@jlhsolutions , in the settings of the node where you check the events enable “Always Output Data”. Then in IF node you can check if any item exists.

@ihortom Ok I enabled that setting, but I think my Google Calendar Node isn’t working properly because it’s not finding events that it should be seeing.

Here are my Google Calendar Node settings

It shows nothing on the right side now. But I have an event on that date with the title as shown in the next screenshot.