How to split a spreadsheet into multiple file and send them by email

Describe the issue/error/question

Hi, I’m pretty new to n8n and thanks for this awesome tools.
I got a new “workflow” i want to achieve and a little bit stuck.

I got an xls file with data inside like
user | item | email
A | item1 | [email protected]
B | item 1 | [email protected]
A | item 2 | [email protected]
A | item 3 | [email protected]

my goal is to “split” this spreadsheet into disctinct file per user and send it to email to dedicated email

like in that case there will be 2 files generated, one for user A, one for user B and sent to their respective emails.

the part to load the binary file and generate the spreadsheet is not an issue but i’m a little bit lost on how to “split” content per key (here user)

I was thinking about the “item list” node but i can’t make anything from it (like my field user is not array)

If anyone get an idea :slight_smile:

Thanks

Hi @mitchum, welcome to the community :tada:

This is indeed a tricky one. Are there only two possible emails? Or is there an infinite number of emails?

If there’s only two emails, I’d simply recommend using the IF node to check whether the email field equals [email protected] (in that case all rows for this email can be further processed after the true output of the IF node, and rows for [email protected] fo to the false output).

If there can be more emails, the scenario would be a bit harder to implement in n8n. The only approach I can imagine would be to transform your input data into a single item for each email address using customized code through the Function node. Then split up the workflow in batches of 1 using the Split In Batches node.

Finally, for each individual email spread out all matching items again, create the spreadsheet, send out the email and loop until all emails are processed.

For example like this:

Example Workflow
1 Like