IMAP (Gmail) ERROR: Invalid credentials (Failure)

I’m getting this error when trying to use Gmail with IMAP Node.

But, Credentials are correct.

Hey @mcnaveen!

I am sorry to hear that you’re facing issues with the credentials. Are you using your email password or are you using the App Password? Gmail doesn’t you allow to use the email password and we need to generate an App password. You can learn about how to create an App Password here.

Let me know if this helps. :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

Hi, @harshil1712 I created an App Password. But unfortunately while trying to execute the IMAP Node. This error pops up.

:white_check_mark: Edit: Enabling Ignore SSL Issues Solved the Issue

very newbie here on n8n -
The google documentation authentication information page is a 404 -Google | Docs
I need to determine what’s wrong with a gmail node query- I’m getting an invalid authentication issue but don’t know how to resolve it. The Oauth creds have full access to all the APIs in google, just to make sure that couldn’t possibly be an issue… Is there a page somewhere that says what that node NEEDS and how it operates interacting with authentication in google so I can debug?

On the same subject, how do I get to the detailed stack traces I keep seeing here? My system doesn’t seem to be producing error output in the GUI and I can’t find documentation on how to get to it or turn it on?

Hey @James_Barnebee,

Welcome to the community :sparkling_heart:

The page doesn’t result in a 404 for me. Can you please let me know from did you get the link? This will help us investigate further.

Can you share which operation you’re using and what query you’re passing? It may be due to an incorrect query.

Are you self-hosting n8n? If yes, you can setup logs following the guide here: Logging in n8n | Docs

I hope this help :slight_smile:

If you have more questions, feel free to create a new topic.