N8n crashing during container initialization with Docker and MySQL

I’m trying to set up a Docker container for n8n that links to a Docker container of MySQL. I can get the MySQL set up and even link into it through a bridge from another container, but when I try to create an n8n container, the system waits for a few seconds and then closes the container. The next time I try to create the container it says the last session crashed.

The closest thing to an error message I am seeing is:

Initializing n8n process
Last session crashed

I should explain that I am new to docker, n8n, and MySQL and it is a miracle I even got this far. Please explain things in a newbie-friendly way if you could.

docker network create --driver bridge dbnet

docker network inspect dbnet

docker pull mysql/mysql-server:5.7

docker run --name mysql \
--env MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD=<PASSWORD> \
--env MYSQL_ROOT_HOST=172.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 \
--env MYSQL_DATABASE=<DATABASE> \
--volume $pwd/mysql-data:/var/lib/mysql \
--network dbnet \
mysql/mysql-server:5.7

mysql -u root -p
CREATE USER '[user]'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED WITH mysql_native_password BY '[password]';
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO '[user]'@'%' IDENTIFIED BY '[password]' with grant option;

docker run --rm -it --name n8n -p 5678:5678 \
-e DB_TYPE=mysqldb -e DB_MYSQLDB_DATABASE=n8n \
-e DB_MYSQLDB_HOST=<DBNET IP> \
-e DB_MYSQLDB_PORT=3306 \
-e DB_MYSQLDB_USER=<USER> \
-e DB_MYSQLDB_PASSWORD=<PASSWORD> \
--network dbnet \
-v ~/.n8n:/home/node/.n8n n8nio/n8n \
n8n start

Running n8n via [Docker, n8n, MySQL5.7]:

I’m using MySQL 5.7 due to an issue with MySQL encoding the root password in a way that my other container cannot read.

Hi @Ryan_Corp, welcome to the community!

I am sorry to hear you’re having trouble. Can you share the output you are seeing before the n8n container crashes? This should hopefully have a few more details.