New and need a custom function

Hey all! I’m Matthew and I’m a complete noob to N8N.
I have very little experience (like an absolute beginner) with js and JSON so I’m sure I’m in over my head with n8n. I spoke with Thomas and Harshil for my onboarding zoom, they mentioned trying out the community… so here I am. a little more background info. I have a basic understanding of the architecture needed to accomplish what I have in my head but I lack the experience or knowledge to see it through. i have managed to accomplish a slimmed-down version on another software but they were insane price-wise. I am hoping to accomplish the same or more here on n8n but to be honest the custom functions are intimidating for a novice like me.

Project scope:
on receipt of webhook call from Jotform parse, responses modify some data for conversion several layers, (I have this figured out, mostly) simultaneously authorize with HTTP request and pull job data model, done.
Please Keep in mind the JSON I receive from the Job Data Model is 1200+ things in 1 item response and is variable depending on the job I am pulling in. The software we pull the job data requires me to chunk the final payload in the same format & Structure and send the HTTP post chunked.

What I am needing:
using a custom function specifically replace specific items in the job data model JSON response with the form responses after modifications or from the original raw JSON from Jotform respectively.

Merge the data and place it back in place of the original Job Data Model in its full format and all the unmodified data from the original payload. stringify/chunk it and set it as output for the last step the Post HTTP request.

One important thing to note is the JSON seems to be a Multi-Tier Array Containing a lot of other arrays of key-value pairs.

[{“id”:“Project Name”,“value”:“Matt-30X50X16-Tulsa”};
{“id”:“Job Number”,“value”:“100562387”}]