New CODE node --- changes

Describe the issue/error/question

Dear team, I’m trying to learn something about using javascript on n8n.

I’m not a programmer so is not being easy for me to learn, however tanks to this community, I learn how to solve some basics scenarios.

Now I realise that there are some changes on the way to write code form previous function and function item to the new code node.

I have one very simple scenario in with I was using function item. Even knowing that the flow is working properly with the old node, I wanted to understand the changes, because I realise that the same code is not working on the new code node.

Old code:

New code (doesn’t work):

• How can I read and learn about the changes?
  • Where I can find documentation about learning JS for n8n (with this new code node)?
  • What will be the code for same functionality in this case?

Thanks!!

Hi @MaaPer,
in your case the code node could look something like this.

We are currently in the process of updating our documentation. The most helpful page linked in the code node is Built-in methods and variables to know about things like $input.item.

A helpful feature the code node is auto complection to see what variables and methods you can use.

1 Like

This new “Code” node is very confusing. I’m not able to point to items and the documentation doesn’t help either :frowning:

3 Likes

@marcus, I tried following your instructions, but it doesn’t work. Have you updated the documentation yet?

This documentation makes zero sense. Item linking in the Code node
Tried to recreate it but gets “ERROR: items is not defined. Did you mean $input.all()? [line 3]”

1 Like

Hey @wallinex,