Please help with IP blocked problem (429 too many requests)

I am new to N8N. Have to say that it is a wonderful software. I use the cloud version for now but I run into a problem:
One HTTP node is being blocked by OpenAI API with a 429 response (Too many requests)

The thing is that I have multiple HTTP nodes pointing to OpenAI API, in the same Workflow, and all seem to be working fine. But one of them is not! And the Node is correctly configured, it was working fine, until suddenly it stopped.

I checked on OpenAI side, and I am not even reaching 1% of the limits for my tier.

Don’t quite understand how that can happen inside one workflow, and always same node.
I only understand that IPs on cloud instances are shared and that a 429 response can happen in a shared environment.

I have 2 questions:

1. Is there a way to fix this? I remember reading somewhere that I can create a proxy tunnel, not sure if that is the solution, I would prefer avoiding it.
  2. I would gladly pay for a separate IP for my cloud instance, to avoid all the problems related with sharing same IP. Is it possible and how much would it cost?

Hey @Cristian_DF,

Welcome to the community :cake:

A 429 error basically means you have been rate limited by OpenAI on your account rather than the IP. There are multiple limits it could be like requests per minute or tokens per minute and it depends on the model so if you were using GPT-4 on Tier 1 you can make 500 requests a minute but only 10,000 tokens if it was the vision preview that is 80 per minute.

One thing you could try is setting the retry options in the node to see if that will help, If you set the http request node to output the full response you may see more information on which limit it thinks you are hitting as well.

I have this problem since yesterday day 25. Acording to OpenAI statistics yesterday I have made 76 requests to the API.
My limits in this account are for gpt-4:
tokens per minute 40.000
requests per minute 5.000