Update n8n without loosing Flows

Hi, I am using CyberPanel. I am hosting n8n for myself in one of my subdomain. The issue I am facing is whenever there is an update I has to delete the old n8n and pull the latest version and then build the whole container a fresh.
so, all of my old data is lost every time there is an update.

I guess there is a way to update it properly that I don’t know of. I am completely noob here, as you guys already understand that.
Please help

Thank You
:slightly_smiling_face:

P.S: is there any complete guide to setup n8n in Cyber Panel properly?

Hey @Abac_Tech, welcome to the community!

I’ve never used CyberPanel I am afraid but this sounds like you don’t have a persistent volume configured for your n8n docker container. Are you running n8n via Docker on your machine running CyberPanel? If so, you might want to check how to configure volumes for your Docker containers using CyberPanel (this way you’d probably find more results compared to searching for n8n specifically).

Without using CyberPanel as an additional layer it’d be as simple as setting the -v ~/.n8n:/home/node/.n8n option from our documentation when executing the docker run command. This would make your local ~/.n8n folder available inside the container as /home/node/.n8n, meaning this folder (and all the data inside such as your workflows) will survive the container recreation that typically happens during an update.

2 Likes

hi, thank you for your reply and help.
when I set up there was an option to map volumes so I did this.

But today I updated and all the flows are gone.

I followed this method to update

Hey @Abac_Tech, which options did you use for the last command from your screenshot? Did you include the -v /root/n8n/.n8n:/home/node/.n8n which seems to be what you have configured in your CyberPanel screenshot? I reckon once you add this your workflows might be back :slight_smile: