Webhook header authorization

Ahoy. Fresh off the Integromat boat and keen to automate some personal finances from Starling Bank v2 webhooks however my enthusiasm is dwindling from being stuck for over a day at the first hurdle - I can’t get the webhook to trigger.

I had this setup working in Integromat and it seemed like all I had to do was provide the payload URL though I honestly can’t remember what authorization steps I went through.

There’s no error message as there’s simply nothing happening when I do things in the banking app that otherwise successfully trigger Integromat’s webhook. I’m sure it’s something to do with credentials but between the Starling Bank API docs, n8n docs and HTTP articles I’m completely overwhelmed and baffled to be honest. I’m no developer but I’ve been using Python since January and have taken to JavaScript in the last couple of days, hence interest in n8n… starting to feel like I’m out of my depth though so any help would be really appreciated.

I don’t think I can share the workflow because it has my public API key from Starling but here’s some screenshots.

Should I be writing something else in the name field of the Header Auth?
What the hell is SHA512withRSA?
Or an X-Hook-Signature?
Should I just retreat back to no code (where I belong)?

Again, any insights very much appreciated.

Cheers

n8n Version: 0.182.0, desktop app

Hi @Tony_McHugh, from your screenshot it looks like you’re using the GET method in n8n, but the documentation page you have linked suggests they are using POST methods:

So, in a first step I’d try updating the HTTP Method in n8n accordingly.

Also, it seems Starling Bank expects very specific paths for your webhook. Meaning the default path (the lengthy alpha-numeric ID) will probably not work and you’d probably need to use paths such as /registered-web-hook-address/feed-item from their documentation.