Webhook Response - Close Window

Describe the issue/error/question

Hi Everyone - I am trying to set the following workflow up:

1. User clicks a button to send Webhook GET request (on Notion; to act like a button)
  2. New Window opens for the GET request (although ideally, if there was a workaround for this, even better)
  3. Webhook accepted
  4. Window closes (back at notion)

I have tried this with the following code in the Respond to Webhook node, but no luck:

<script>window.open('', '_self', ''); window.close();</script>

The window stays open (although the webhook works fine)

Please share the workflow

1 Like

Hi @pb84,

First: I have no experience with ā€œNotionā€.
Second: Close a tab/window with javascript works only if the window is open with javascript - not by a response html page with js: window.close().

If you can use html, there are 2 ways:
I prefer working asynchronously with ajax (fetch(), axios, jQuery, etcā€¦). The page can continue to be used and data from the server can be processed.

The second: Open a pop-up and close it with javascript, but Pop-ups are not a nice thing (in my world :slight_smile: )

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
  <head>
    <title>Page Title</title>
  </head>
  <body>
    <h1>Call the Webhook...</h1>
    <h2>... and close the window</h2>
    <input id="url" type="text" />
    <button onclick="ajax()">AJAX</button>
    <button onclick="closePopUp()">PopUp</button>

<script>
      function getUrl() {
        return document.getElementById("url").value;
      }

async function ajax() {
        const url = getUrl();
        console.log("Call URL: " + url);
        const response = await fetch(url);
        console.log(response);
      }

function closePopUp() {
        const url = getUrl();
        const popUp = window.open(url, "_blank", "width=200, height=100");
        setTimeout(function () {
          popUp.close();
        }, 300);
      }
    </script>
  </body>
</html>