Webhook subscription node

I have a 3rd party API provider, that made a few webhooks for us. I have an API endpoint to subscribe each webhook as well as events they should be triggered. Since this provider isn’t registered to n8n, I wonder is it possible to me to create a node inside editor to serve for the subscription purpose, since I have all I need to make it e.g. URL, authorization etc,?
Please note, I have self hosted n8n.
Thanks!

Information on your n8n setup

• n8n version: 1.31.2
  • Database (default: SQLite): default
  • n8n EXECUTIONS_PROCESS setting (default: own, main): main
  • Running n8n via (Docker, npm, n8n cloud, desktop app): Docker
  • Operating system: Ubuntu

hello @Angel_Todorov

You can create your own node for that or you can use the default Webhook node.

Thanks @barn4k - is there by any chance n8n trigger node open source, I can start from? Something line Stripe node or similar, where I can see how both web hook subscription also takes place?
I didn’t find a way to handle both subscription and trigger mode from a single node. If I manually subscribe the webhook, I can then use webhook node to receive events. I am curios if I can handle webhook subscription part as well from the node.
Thanks!

There is no “Subscription” mode :slight_smile:

Subscription means the service you are interested in pushes the events to your endpoint (webhook) when there is new events occur. But so that to work, you need to register the webhook there. It depends on the service of how you will manage that (some services require sending a specific HTTP request with the webhook details, and others - configure subscription with UI).

Well, my point is - when you have a webhook:

1. You need to subscribe for the service that is suppose to call it
  2. The service will call it in case of specific event.