Make global expressions more easily accessible in Expression editor?

Disclaimer: I’m new to n8n and this might be a terrible idea :slight_smile:

I was stumped trying to get the current workflow name in a telegram msg node, and then stumbled upon this:

I then discovered I could put {{$workflow.name}} and it would work!

I think it would be awesome if in the left hand panel of the node’s expression editor, there were these global expressions made more discoverable.

Eg. currently it’s this:

Perhaps something like this would work where a Global set of expressions is also avail on left hand side?

To be honest is the Expression-Editor one of the things I want to improve (actually totally overhaul) for a very long time. In the beginning, there was simply way too much to be done so could not spend too much time on every single feature. Sadly did we still not get around to do that. So really like your suggestion. Would not be too much work to implement now but still could help users in this situation a lot.

2 Likes

Totally understand the situation, and appreciate all the hard work. Glad my suggestion resonates with you.

I think the main principal here I see is to try to avoid needing function nodes as much as possible, and make key programmatic elements more easily discoverable (without needing to search the community forums).

With a nested tree of “globals” available in the expression builder, if it’s easy to add now, I think it would be really work it ahead of a full overhaul. I can see everyone wanting this.

I’d even love to see stuff like “Current Date”, “Current Date and Time” etc in there. Could see several flavors of Moment/JS formatted friendly strings being done under the covers, which again, eliminates the need for function nodes.