Debugging - Js expression error

Describe the problem/error/question

I have a two step automation that triggers from an email received (Gmail) and writes to a Google sheet.

In the Google sheet step, I am cutting the datestring out of the ISO datetime as follows:

{{ $json.date.split('T')[0] }}

I get a preview of the correct output value like 1/18/2024 as expected. I also see the expected value in the target spreadsheet when I run “Test Step” by itself.

However, when I run the pipeline from the canvas via “Test Workflow”, the value comes through blank.

This is my first time using n8n and I don’t know how to debug this effectively.

What is the error message (if any)?

Please share your workflow

Share the output returned by the last node

I’ve also noticed a discrepancy between the single step run and the workflow run as follows:

If I drop the split expression, ie a simple {{ $json.date }}, i get the following results:

Single step: 2024-01-18T20:00:00.000Z
Whole workflow: “2024-01-18T20:00:00.000Z”

Information on your n8n setup

• n8n version: Version 1.24.1
  • Running n8n via: cloud

It looks like your topic is missing some important information. Could you provide the following if applicable.

• n8n version:
  • Database (default: SQLite):
  • n8n EXECUTIONS_PROCESS setting (default: own, main):
  • Running n8n via (Docker, npm, n8n cloud, desktop app):
  • Operating system:

Hey @pinkbird,

Welcome to the community :tada:

What you are doing looks good to me, It shouldn’t matter but have you tried adding .toString() to the end to see if that helps?

Thanks @Jon I tried that but still seeing the same result. It works as expected when I run the append sheet step in isolation, but when I run the whole workflow, that cell is blank.

Any idea why the output might be diverging running as a single step vs the workflow?

Hey @pinkbird,