Puppeteer in N8N

Hi,

I am new to javascripting, i am trying to use puppeteer inside function node and i am not finding relevant document for puppeteer in N8N.

What i am trying to achieve is that, we have a URL for which we have to authenticate and take a screen shot of that page. I ran some simple nodejs code to achieve the same where its working fine on my vscode. I dont know how to use the same code inside N8N.

flow -

URL ----> N8N fucntion node ----> Pass the screenshot to the next node

the code i am using is the sample one that is ready avaiable on the internet.

const puppeteer = require('puppeteer');
(async () => {
     const browser = await puppeteer.launch({ headless: false });
	 const page = await browser.newPage();
	 await page.goto("https://wwww.google.com");
	 const html = await page.content();
	 //await page.screenshot({ path:" google.png"});
	 return html
	 //await browser.close();
	 })();

Need your help on this.

Thanks
Sathya

Hey @Sathya_Narayanan,

Do you want to use Puppeteer to take screenshots of websites? If yes, I recently published a node in n8n that can help you here. This node uses the Pageres library, which under the hood uses Puppeteer.

You can find it here: GitHub - harshil1712/n8n-nodes-pageres: An n8n node that use pageres to take screenshot of websites

Puppeteer requires chrome to execute. You need to make sure that a browser is available and n8n has permission to use it.

Hi @harshil1712 ,

i think i saw that video on youtube, are you talking about the one which you made for automatic API creation and taking screen shot of a URL ?

I was searching for this node, but i dont know how to install it, i am using NpM version of N8N, and my current version is 161…

How do i get this node, do i have to upgrade ?

Hi,

I tired installing the new node using npm -g flag, and the node got installed, however when i fire up the GUI, i am not finding that node… what am i missing ? please help