TIDY.JS to the function node

Hello.
I’ve started to use n8n just recently and I’m absolutely amazed by many unique ideas compared to other automation tools.

Function node in particular is great, however it may be a bit tedious to perform data wrangling in JS.

From my opinion, JS is just simply not the best tool for that. Speaking of “best tool” for data wrangling, there are several other options like SAS and R. As a data analyst by trade, I use them all the time and recently came across one interesting JS project that tries to unite these “worlds”:
tidy.js (pbeshai.github.io)

I wanted to ask whether it’s possible to use tidy.js in n8n workflows? I’m thinking primarily about writing custom code in function node, but maybe some custom nodes can also be created. My experience in docker \ JS is very modest, so I was able to follow instructions and install n8n via docker-compose. But I have no idea how one can connect some “external” JS framework to n8n.

Hope my question makes sense and some steps can be done even without any official support of tidy.js

Regards,
Eduard

I have not tried it myself but you can import modules to use in the functions, There is a bit of text about how to do it below that might be useful to you.

Ah, thanks a lot.
I didn’t realise those are called external functions.
Probably this will be a bit trickier to install on docker-compose, but at least it’s clear where to look at.

I think that is the case or it is at least how I read it anyway so it could be handy or it could be useless.

I checked the library and it seems similar to lodash. We use lodash internally, meaning you can use it within a function by just setting the NODE_FUNCTION_ALLOW_EXTERNAL=lodash. Unlike Tidy.js that if you wanted to use you would need to create a custom image that includes that library as a dependency.

In the function node you use it as shown below:

const lodash = require('lodash')

//do whatever with it

return [
  {
    json: {
    }
  }
]